BOV Premier League Draws 2021-2022 Published on: 16-07-2021

BOV Premier League

BOV Premier League 2021-22

The BOV Premier League draws for season 2021/22 season were drawn earlier today at the Malta Football Association offices. 
Hamrun Spartans will start the title defense against Valletta, while Hibernians will start against Gzira United. The Derby between Mosta and Birkirkara will be played on the first day, while Gudja United face Sirens. Floriana hope for a better season than the last one and start against Santa Lucia, while Balzan also hope to be better than the previous season and start against Sliema Wanderers.
First day matches:
Mosta FC – Birkirkara FC
Gudja United FC – Sirens FC
Ħamrun Spartans FC – Valletta FC
Gżira United FC – Hibernians FC
Balzan FC – Sliema Wanderers FC
Floriana FC – Santa Lucia FC

Valletta FC match Sequence:
1. Hamrun
2. Balzan
3. Floriana
4. Gzira U.
5. Gudja U.
6. Sirens
7. Hibernians
8. Santa Lucia
9. Sliema W.
10. Mosta 
11. Birkirkara
On the second day of the BOV Premier League Birkirkara meet Hamrun Spartans, with the reigning champions face Hibernians on the 9th day of the season.
Valletta will play the derby against Floriana on the third day of the tournament, and on the 11th day they meet rivals Birkirkara, which incidentally will be the last game of the first and second round. On the fourth day Valletta will face another tough, challenge when they play against Gżira United.
The BOV Premier League will start on Thursday 12 August 2021 and ends on 30 April 2022. The twelve Premier League teams in the order of their draw are: Mosta FC, Birkirkara FC, Gudja United FC, Sirens FC, Ħamrun Spartans FC, Valletta FC, Gżira United FC, Hibernians FC, Balzan FC, Sliema Wanderers FC, Floriana FC and Santa Lucia FC.
After the first two rounds, the first six teams will be in their own category, with the other six will be in play-outs category.
The BOV Premier League winner will play in the UEFA Champions League next season, while the runners-up will compete in the UEFA Europa Conference League. The fourth team may also make it to the European competition, depending on who wins the FA Trophy.
It has also been announced that most of the matches will be played during the weekend as there are only 12 teams in the Premier League.