Valletta midfielder Briffa named MFA footballer of the year Published on: 21-05-2016

Roderick Briffa

Valletta midfielder Roderick Briffa has been named MFA footballer of the year for season 2015/16.

Briffa, who had also won this coveted award in season 2010/11, was instrumental in Valletta's march to the BOV Premier League title. He succeeds Hibs captain Andrew Cohen who won this accolade last year.

The experienced midfielder beat the challenge of Hibs stalwart Bjorn Kristensen with Jonathan Caruana, the Valletta captain. The other two contenders were Balzan strikers Alfred Effiong and Lydon Micallef.

Valletta coach Paul Zammit was voted best coach ahead of Tarxien's Jacques Scerri and Branko Nisevic, who was in charge of Hibernian this season but lost his job in midweek.

Gilmar, Hibs' Brazilian playmaker, took the best foreigner prize while Jurgen Degabriele, also of Hibs, achieved a double after winning the best young player and best youth player awards.

Edmond Agius's superb strike for Birkirkara in the 2-1 win over Hibs, a result that handed the title to Valletta, was voted best goal of the season.

Football historian Carmel Baldacchino was honoured for his sterling contribution to the local game.

The theme of this evening's MFA Awards was the FA Trophy competition as the prestigious trophy that has been presented to the KO winners since the 1930s is being withdrawn to make way for a brand new silver cup.

The design of the new trophy was unveiled this evening.

2016/17 BOV Premier League

Matchday One

Floriana vs Pembroke

Birkirkara vs St Andrew's, Balzan vs Mosta

Valletta vs Sliema Wanderers,

Gzira United vs Tarxien Rainbows

Hibs vs Hamrun Spartans.

Source - Times of Malta