Valletta FC featured on Published on: 02-11-2012

Born Offside is basically an opinion website - who covers all sorts of leagues and subjects and the more unique the subject, the better! This website has grown into a community of football fanatics who have several things in common.

The team includes journalists, techies, editors and general degenerates and they take articles from anyone and anywhere as long as it catches their eyes.

Today featured an article about Valletta Football Club. The article is written by Dave McFarlane.

We are…VALLETTA FC of the Maltese Premier League!

So who are Valletta, I hear you cry? Well, pull up a chair, get comfortable, and join me as we Merħba (Welcome) Valletta to Born Offside.

Valletta FC have been around in some format since 1904 through various team amalgamations, name changes and mergers but became Valletta FC in 1943. In their first season, the Maltese FA did not run a league but instead formed a ‘Malta Cup’ to be played in the 1943/44 season as football and Malta in general was recovering from the Second World War ending in the country. You’ll notice the war ended a little earlier in Malta. Anyway, a youthful Valletta were not expected to do well in the cup, but against all odds they won the Final, defeating the far more experienced Floriana 2-1 a hard-fought match.

This first season gave the club a taste of victory, and they’ve never given up winning since that fateful Malta Cup Final. Valetta have won the Maltese Premier League 21 times, only beaten by Floriana (25 times) and Sliema Wanderers (26) and have won the league two seasons in a row. The White Warriors have also won the Maltese Cup on 12 occasions, again only beaten by Floriana and Sliema. They hold the record for victories in the MFA Super Cup, winning it 10 times, double the amount of Birkirkara & Hamrun Spartans.

Click here to view the full article.

Special thanks to Dave McFarlane