UBet FA Trophy: Valletta 3 Hamrun S. 1 Published on: 02-12-2012

Valletta managed to qualify for the fourth round of the U* BET FA Trophy after eliminating Hamrun Spartans with a 3-1 result.  It is worth mentioning that for a long time the Spartans managed to hold the initiative with the opponents. Valletta opened the score on the 20th minutes when a by Dyson Falzon found Ian Zammit who beat young goalkeeper Andrea Cassar with a header.

Hamrun Saprtans levelled matters on the 28th minute when a long pass by Ryan Spiteri to Gianluca Calabretta who beat Yenz Cini with a fine lob.  On the 42nd minute a perfect freekick by Denni  Dos Santos fever was saved into a corner by Andrea Cassar. On the 46th minute a powerful shot by Ryan Fenech from outside the box hit the crossbar.

On the 59th minute from a low cross by Dyson Falzon, Ryan Fenech connected well to hit wide. On the 63rd minute a cross by Denni Rocha Dos Santos to Edmond Agius but his shot ended wide. Two minutes later a powerful shot from 30 meters away by William Barbosa was turned into a corner by Cassar. Valletta took the lead on the 70th minute Valletta took the lead when William Barbosa exchanged the ball with Ian Zammit and fired a shot which ended at the back of the net
On the 76th minute Riccardo Barretto saw his effort ending high. On the 84th minute Valletta scored the third goal, following a direct freekick by William Barbosa who beat goalkeeper Andrea Cassar. In the 90th minute a shot by Daniel Zerafa was cleared into a corner by the City’s defender.

VALLETTA - Y. Cini, D. Falzon, I. Azzopardi, W. Barbosa, E. Agius (K. Magro), R. Fenech (S. Bajada), D. Dos Santos, J. Gabriel (L. Da Silva Almeida), R. Briffa, R. Barreto da Rocha Filho, I. Zammit

HAMRUN  - A. Cassar, A. Ivanov, L. Vitanov, R. Fenech, A. Vergilov, D. Zerafa, M. Grima, A. Borg (D. Camilleri), G. Calabretta, R. Spiteri (N. Bozhov), T. Vella (G. Azzopardi)

Date: 02-12-12     Time: 16:00    Venue: National Stadium

Scorers: 20'  I. Zammit, 28' G. Calabretta (H), 70' 84'  W. Barbosa.

Yellow Cards: R. Briffa, D. Falzon, D. Dos Santos

Referee: Tristan Farrugia Cann