MFA Awards finalists announced Published on: 26-04-2018

The finalists in the main categories of the 2018 MFA Awards, to be held on 11th May, 2018 were announced yesterday afternoon. The five contenders for the most prestigious individual honour in Maltese football – the MFA Footballer of the Year Award – are Andrew Cohen (Gżira United), Paul Fenech (Balzan), Jake Grech (Birkirkara), Steve Pisani (Floriana) and Andrè Schembri (Apollon Limassaol). 
In the young player category, the three finalists are all Malta Under21 players – Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians), Jake Grech (Birkirkara) and Kyrian Nwoko (Valletta). 
The three candidates for the foreign player of the year award are Mislav Andelkovic (Birkirkara), Carlos De Fiori Mendes (Balzan) and Amadou Samb (Gżira United). 
The three contenders for the best youth league player honour are Jan Busuttil (Pietà Hotspurs), Neil Frendo (Mosta) and Connor Zammit (Hibernians).The three nominees for the GFA player of the year award all play for champions Victoria Hotspurs – Ferdinando Apap, Christian Mercieca and Adrian Parnis
 For the futsal player of the year award, there are two Valletta players, Melvin Borg and Jovica Milijic, and Marwan Telesi, of Mrieħel ESS. The public will decide the winner of the 2017/18 best goal award.