Europa League - FC Minsk 2 Valletta 0 Published on: 25-07-2013

Aleksandr Sverchinski Pietro Marino
Vladzimir Bushma Jonathan Caruana (Romulu Antoneli)
Roman Begunov Roderick Briffa
Siarhei Sosnovski Luke Dimech
Aleksandr Sachivko Denni Rocha Dos Santos
Milos Rnic Dyson Falzon
Sergiy Rozhok (S. Kibuk) Ryan Fenech
Siarhei Kozeka Hamza Barry
Nikita Bukatkin Jason Vandelannoite
Dmitri Gorbushin (A. Buloychik) Ian Azzopardi (Shaun Bajada)
Raman Vasilyuk (A. Makas) Austin Obaje (Ian Zammit)

UEFA Europa League Second Qualifying Round Second Leg

Date: 25.07.2013 - Dinamo Stadion Minsk

Yellow Cards: J. Caruana, P. Marino, H. Barry (V), Bukatkin, Sachivko, M. Rnic (M)

Scorers: 53' Vasilyuk, 60' Kibuk.

Referee: Alexander Kosta-dinov (Bulgaria)

Valletta’s bid to progress to the third qualifying round of the UEFA Europa League came to an end as they were eliminated from the competition by FC Minsk 3-1 on aggregate.

Valletta were eliminated from the UEFA Europa League after suffering a 2-0 defeat to FC Minsk of Belarus in the second leg of the second qualifying round at the Torpedo Stadium in Zhodino on Thursday.

FC Minsk, who qualify with a 3-1 aggregate score, will now face the winner of the clash between Rosenborg of Norway and St. Johnstone of Scotland.

Coach Mark Miller opted to start with Nigerian striker Aud-Gustine James Obaje in attack and Ian Azzopardi in defence, leaving Shaun Bajada out of the starting line-up.

After a goalless first half, the hosts managed to take the lead eight minutes after the break thanks to Roman Vasilyuk whose effort beat goalkeeper Pietro Marino.

On the hour, FC Minsk doubled the score through Vital Kibuk. A blow for the Citizens who at this point needed two goals to secure qualification.

Miller included new signing Romulo Marcos Antoneli and Ian Zammit in the Citizens; bid to get back in the game but this was not enough for them to reduce the gap.

This was the first defeat for Valletta in this Europa League campaign after the two wins over SP La Fiorita and the 1-1 draw with FC Minsk in the first

Source -