Preview: National League 100 Anniversary Cup Final Published on: 12-04-2010

Valletta and Floriana, two teams amongst the top three clubs who have collected most silverware throughout the years will meet tomorrow in another epic final, kick-off 19:30hrs. These two teams already met on December 13, 2000 in the final of the Centenary Cup. Valletta won the Centenary Cup (3-1).
The National League 100 Anniversary Cup was organised by the Malta Football Association to commemorate the 100 Years of National League Football. This competition was open for all clubs from the Premier League to the Third Division. Valletta and Floriana entered this competition in the third round.
Valletta eliminated Gozo (7-0), Vittoriosa Stars (3-0), Hibernians (2-0) and Tarxien Rainbows (3-1). Floriana, on the other hand eliminated Mqabba (2-0), Melita (1-0), Hamrun Spartans (7-8) and Mosta (3-1).
Valletta and Floriana already met twice this season, the Lillywhites won both encounters (6-0) and (4-0) respectively. Valletta are currently second in the BOV Premier League, while Floriana secured a place in the Premier League for next season during their last outing (1-0) against Hamrun Spartans. The two teams should have full squad at their disposal for tomorrow’s match.