Denni Rocha Dos Santos: The Time best player Published on: 16-07-2010

Denni Rocha Dos Santos The Time best player

The Brazilian, who turns 27 in August, heads our list of top performers after gaining a total of 183 points for his showings in the bOV Premier League campaign.

Launched in season 2004/05, The Times best player award aims to reward that player who sustains a high level of performance throughout the season.

Bu adding the points our reporters assign to each player at the end of every league match, we compile a classification that sheds a light on who were the most consistent perfprmers.

Missing only one league game for Tarxien Rainbows last season, Denni was without a trace of doubt one of the leading lights of the Premier League.

Blessed with sublime skill, vision and a powerful shot, Denni, was the man with the X-factor as Tarxien enjoyed their best ever season in the top flight. It speaks volumes of Denni’s enduring brilliance that he received a performance rating of seven points or higher on no fewer than 15 occasions.

The Brazilian livewire’s tag as one of the top players is also backed by winning three BOV Player of the Month awards last season. Denni was also voted best foreign player at the 2010 Malta Football Awards.

Surely Tarxien’s ascent to the Championship Pool also played a key role in Denni’s success as the teams in the top-six cohort play four matches more than those in the relegation zone. It is also a feat for Denni to have eclipsed a host of established players who helped Birkirkara to the Premier League.

The likes of Michael Galea, the Birkirkra captain, Trevor Cilia, Shaun Bajada, Paul Fenech and Sylvano Comvalius are in our top-10 list but all finished behind Denni whose to notch displays for the Rainbows earned him a lucrative move to Valletta.

Denni’s grand total of 183 points is eight better than that of Valletta defender Kenneth Scicluna, winner of The Times best player accolade for season 2008/09.


1. Denni (Tarxien) 183.0
2. T. Cilia (Birkirkara) 177.5
    M. Galea (Birkirkara) 177.5
3. Ramon (Qormi) 177.0
4. S. Bajada (Birkirkara) 173.5
    M. Farrugia (Qormi) 173.5
5. A. Effiong (Qormi) 170.5
6. A. Hogg (Valletta) 168.5
7. S. Agius (Sliema)  168.0
8. M. Grima (Qormi) 167.5
9. S. Comvalius (Birkirkara) 163.0
10. P. Fenech (Birkirkara) 162.5

Courtesy - Times of Malta