Day 01: Valletta 3 Vittoriosa S. 0 Published on: 12-09-2010

Citizens off to winning start

Valletta got the best possible start to the new season when they beat Vittoriosa
3-0 this evening.

The season was only 63 seconds old for Valletta when they opned the score.
Following an incisive breakaway on the right flank by Omonigho Temile, the Nigerian fed Kevin Sammut who raced clear at the far post to coolly slot the ball under the on-rushing Simon Agius.

That goal should have signalled the opening of the floodgates, but Valletta had to wait 80 more minutes to put their mind at rest and extinguish Vittoriosa hopes of a comeback. Winston Muscat’s side were forced to reshuffle their pack and chase the game and in a game of countless chances, the match could so easily have headed in any direction after Kevin Sammut’s early contribution.

Yet, Vittoriosa were condemned to harsh lesson in life at the top when Valetta won courtesy of two late goals by substitutes Ian Zammit and Dyson Falzon and blunt Vittoriosa finishing. On the 80th minute, Zammit, who had barely been on for five minutes, flighted a free-kick over the wall and into the top corner.

With Vittoriosa surging forward, it seemed inevitable that Valetta would score again and their sell-out crowd had to wait until two minutes from time, for Dyson Fazlon to collect a rebound after Temile forced a sharp save off Agius.

Source: Times of Malta

VALLETTA: A. Hogg, R. Briffa, R. Dos Santos, J. Caruana, I. Azzopardi, G. Agius, O. Temile (D. Falzon), J. Pace, D. Rocha Dos Santos, K. Sammut (73' I. Zammit), T. Scerri (J. Okonkwo)

VITTORIOSA STARS: S. Agius, C. Micallef (K. Mifsud), P. Aquilina, S. Pace, J. Chetcuti, C. Campagnoli, E. Dos Santos, D. Cachia, J. Santos Silva (K. Sammut), A. Ewurum (L. Grech), S. Wellman.

Photo credits: Copyright Times of Malta

BOV Premier 2010/11
Date: 12-09-10     Time: 07:00    Venue: National Stadium

Scorers: 1' K. Sammut, 81' I. Zammit, 88' D. Falzon.

Yellow Cards: J. Pace, R. Dos Santos, I. Azzopardi

Man of match: Jamie Pace (Valletta)

Referee: Adrian Azzopardi